Kenmare native Patrick Hanley returns home with his wife Aileen Hanley to take the reins of The Lansdowne Kenmare – 24 years after his parents sold the business. Patrick’s parents Bobby and Breda Hanley owned and ran what was then known as The Lansdowne Arms Hotel from 1972 – 2000 where Patrick grew up.
The Lansdowne Kenmare has been part of the history of Kenmare since it was built as the town residence of William Petty Fitzmaurice in 1790, the 2nd Earl of Shelburne, and is one of the oldest landmarks in Kenmare.
It now stands as a beacon welcoming guests to wander the streets of this quaint town and to explore the breath-taking scenery that surrounds it.
At the heart of The Lansdowne Kenmare is a passionate team, dedicated to creating great memories for our guests who return time and again for escapes to Kenmare. For us hospitality begins with a warm welcome and ends with a friendly goodbye, with great service, stylish décor and tasty food .
Neidin is the Irish name for Kenmare and translates to Little Nest. A Little Nest is exactly what was envisaged in 1790 when The Lansdowne first opened its door.
We love The Lansdowne Kenmare and we hope that you will too.